top of page
Search

Anxiety has got the best of me 3/18

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

I thought that today would be easy. All weekend I was waiting for the start of the week, getting the conformation that we can get married. I call the jail at 11:00am and ask for the chaplain. I am forwarded and it rings for what seems like an eternity. Then goes to voicemail. Maybe he's busy? I wait until 1:00pm because he said he usually takes lunch between 12-2pm and I'm hoping maybe I'll get him. The phone rings for a while and then voicemail. I have found that leaving this man voicemails does nothing. He doesn't return my calls. So I sit nervously twitching at my desk. Not hungry but knowing I need to eat something. I mean, I would just assume starve if it wasn't for baby Penelope. Unfortunately I know I have to eat so I slowly pick at my salad and wait until after 2:00pm to try and get the answer I have been waiting for. For all I know the chaplain is out today and I am just wasting my time. Maybe that's the question I should ask on my next call. I know he is a busy man and I'm sure there are 100 people just like me doing the same thing. But I need him so badly to come home. I can hear the exhaustion in his voice when I talk to him. It sounds like he is being slowly defeated and I hate hearing that. I feel infinitely guilty for my inability to get him free RIGHT NOW.

Update: I spoke with the chaplain, finally, he didn't file Cesar's paperwork on Friday. Cesar still has to sign some things. He said he would get it to him today and then get it filed with ICE. He said for some reason, he sent over several to ICE last week and they haven't gotten back to him yet, so "either they're asleep or someone's on vacation." Ugh. I just want Cesar to call me so I can tell him what is going on so he can ask to speak with the chaplain and get those documents signed.

Update: Cesar called the chaplain actually got him the documents today! Hopefully they will get filled and we will be on our way. I know I am still going to struggle with anxiety and depression for a while but hopefully this will curb it a little. All I have wanted to do today is cry for some reason. I was fine ALL weekend, but today has been 10x harder and I can't pinpoint why.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page